Posted in Breads, Personal | Learning to Bake

My first attempt at Banana Bread

I wish I could say this was a success but… it was a bit of a flop.

 

The top of my loaf just wouldn’t bake. I put it back in for quite some time. My friend Elaine gave me a tip to shut the oven off after it’s done baking and leave the bread in until it cools. Will try this next time.

This recipe is from Mr. Breakfast & it’s the very first banana bread recipe I’ve ever tried.

I wish I had of found the instruction link before I tried to make it as it probably would have turned out better. I had just found the infographic on Facebook and gave it a go.

This tip would have come in handy: (which I usually know but there was no instructions and I had never baked banana bread before.)

The only note of caution with this recipe is to watch the cooking time. 40 to 50 minutes is a decent approximation, but every loaf of banana bread has its own distinct cooking time. The ripeness and size of your “medium” bananas both impact the cooking time. I’ve had one loaf take exactly 40 minutes and another with the same recipe take nearly an hour. Both turned out great despite the significant difference in cooking time. Just be sure to test that the bread is done with a toothpick or a skewer. If you stick it in the middle of the loaf and it comes out clean, the bread is done.

Mr. Breakfast’s recipe below:

Easy Banana Bread

  • 1 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 medium bananas
  • 8 Tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Cream sugar and butter, mash the bananas and add to the mixture.

Beat and add the eggs. Slowly add the flour, salt, and baking soda. (If desired, fold in the walnuts at this point.) Pour into a loaf pan.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 40 to 50 minutes.

Cream Butter & Sugar
Beat 2 Eggs & Add them in
Mash 3 ripe bananas and add them in
This is what it looked like before I poured it into the pan. I didn’t have any nuts to fold in, so I gave it a shot as is. It wasn’t terrible but it wasn’t awesome either.

This was after 40 minutes. It was jiggly on top so I put it back in.

20ish minutes later… still that one mushy spot on top :/
still a bit mushy on top. may have been the banana that didn’t settle in.

Here’s the original info graphic that was on Facebook

Here’s the Easy Banana Bread recipe;

Mine did not turn out like the post’s. Will try again. Practice makes perfect. 🙂

Do you have a fool-proof banana bread recipe to share?

Author:

Briar-Rose - Canadian Mama to two beautiful boys, blessed wife to the most supportive husband, Positive Parenting, Natural Family Wellness & Motherhood. Saved by Grace, Lover of all things old. Antiques, Old Books and Old Homes. History and Ancestry. Refinishing or Restoring Furniture, Creating Rustic Designs, Ornate Antique, Primitive Decorating. Learning to bake, sharing on Old Recipe Book. In the process of combining all of my blogs into one on Briar Rose Blog Taking a break from Blogging @ The Herbal Healing Mama, & Rustic Reclaimed Designs. - Profile photo: Reflections of Life.

Leave a comment